John David Plans Transition at NAB

Posted On: Apr 26, 2019

WASHINGTON, DC — NAB announced today that John David, executive vice president of NAB Radio, will move from his day-to-day role as head of the NAB Radio Department on February 1. NAB has retained David to serve as Senior Advisor to NAB for special projects, according to NAB President and CEO Gordon Smith. …

NAB Statement on Introduction of Music Modernization Act in Senate

Posted On: Apr 25, 2019

WASHINGTON — In response to ” target=”_blank”>today’s introduction by Senators Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Bob Corker (R-TN), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Chris Coons (D-DE), Richard Durbin (D-IL), and Doug Jones (D-AL), of the Music Modernization Act, previously introduced in the House by Representatives Doug Collins (R-GA) and Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY), the following statement can be attributed to NAB President and CEO Gordon Smith:…

Broadcasters Donate Over $32 Million in Airtime for PSAs Addressing Opioid Abuse Epidemic

Posted On: Apr 23, 2019

WASHINGTON, D.C.–The National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) announced today that local radio and television stations and their broadcast network partners have donated more than $32 million in airtime for public service announcements (PSAs) focused on opioid abuse awareness and prevention. This includes 253,783 TV and radio airings between September 2016 and December 2017. The PSAs are part of a campaign launched by NAB and the Partnership for Drug-Free Kids….

New Video Streaming Summit to Launch at 2018 NAB Show

Posted On: Apr 17, 2019

The 2018 NAB Show will debut the Streaming Summit, a one-day conference on Wednesday, April 11 at the Westgate. The program, which is co-produced by streaming industry expert Dan Rayburn, will focus on the dynamics of the streaming media business, from advances in technology to monetization opportunities and content offerings….

Dozen House Members and Senators Sign On as Local Radio Freedom Act Cosponsors

Posted On: Apr 16, 2019

WASHINGTON, DC — Ten Members of the House of Representatives and two Senators have added their cosponsorship to a resolution opposing “any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge” on local broadcast radio stations. The Local Radio Freedom Act (LRFA), which signals Members of Congress’s opposition to any potential legislation that imposes new performance royalties on broadcast radio stations for music airplay, now has 161 cosponsors in the House and 19 in the Senate. …