Four Representatives, One Senator Added as Local Radio Freedom Act Cosponsors

Posted On: Dec 09, 2018

WASHINGTON, DC — Four Members of the House of Representatives and one Senator have added their support for the Local Radio Freedom Act, a resolution opposing “any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge” on local broadcast radio stations. The Local Radio Freedom Act (LRFA) now has 225 cosponsors in the House. There are 27 LRFA co-sponsors in the Senate. …

Leonard Wheeler Appointed to NAB Radio Board

Posted On: Dec 08, 2018

Leonard Wheeler, president and general manager of Mel Wheeler, Inc., has been appointed to the NAB Radio Board of Directors by Radio Board Chairman Randy Gravley in accordance with NAB by-laws, effective immediately. Wheeler assumes the board seat previously occupied by Jim Watkins, prior to his retirement from WHUR-FM….

NAB Education Foundation Elects New Board Chair

Posted On: Dec 06, 2018

— The NAB Education Foundation (NABEF) has elected Board member and President of Bonneville International Corporation Darrell K. Brown as chairman of its Board of Directors, effective January 1, 2019. …

NAB Education Foundation Announces 2018 Service to America Award Winners

Posted On: Dec 05, 2018

The National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation (NABEF) announced today the winners of the 2018 Celebration of Service to America Awards, recognizing outstanding community service by local broadcasters. Winners will be honored at the Celebration of Service to America dinner, held Tuesday, June 12 at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, D.C….

Phase 2 of the Spectrum Repack

Posted On: Dec 04, 2018

Phase 2 of the spectrum repack, the second of 10 phases during which many TV stations across the country must move frequencies, began December 1.

You can find out which stations in our state are moving frequencies by cut and pasting this link



OAB 2019 Elections

Posted On: Dec 04, 2018

The 2019 OAB Election results are in, here is the outcome:

2019 Officers:
The Officers are to be elected as a three-person slate, pursuant of OAB By-Laws. Nominations Committee proposes the re-election of the current Officers of OAB, who are listed below:

Office                                       Name
Chairperson                     Trila Bumstead
Vice Chair                          Kingsley Kelly
Secretary/Treasurer    Cambra Ward

Officers were re-elected for a one year extended term.


NAB Opens 2018 Marconi Radio Awards Nomination Window

Posted On: Dec 02, 2018

The National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) announced today that it will accept nominations for the 2018 NAB Marconi Radio Awards until May 31. The Marconi Radio Awards recognize overall excellence and performance in radio….