Local Radio Freedom Act Garners Additional Bipartisan Support in House, Senate

June 14, 2021

138 Representatives, 18 Senators cosponsoring resolution opposing performance royalty on local radio

National Religious Broadcasters send letter to congressional leaders in support of resolution

WASHINGTON, DC — Fourteen members of the House of Representatives and three Senators have added their support to the Local Radio Freedom Act (LRFA) opposing “any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge” on local broadcast radio stations bringing the number of cosponsors to 138 in the House and 18 in the Senate. The National Religious Broadcasters (NRB) expressed their support for the resolution, which signals members of Congress’s opposition to any potential legislation that imposes new performance royalties on broadcast radio stations for music airplay, in a letter to congressional leaders on June 11.

Adding their support recently for the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House are Reps. Jack Bergman (R-MI-1), Larry Bucshon (R-IN-8), John Carter (R-TX-31), Liz Cheney (R-WY-AL), Vicky Hartzler (R-MO-4), Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA-6), Trent Kelly (R-MS-1), Darin LaHood (R-IL-18), Frank Mrvan (D-IN-1), Amata Radewagen (R-AS-DL), Tom Rice (R-SC-7), Tim Ryan (D-OH-13), Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD-2) and Chris Stewart (R-UT-2). Adding their support for the resolution in the Senate are Sens. Mike Braun (R-IN), John Hoeven (R-ND) and Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS).

Reps. Kathy Castor (D-FL-14) and Steve Womack (R-AR-3) are the principal cosponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House of Representatives. Sens. Martin Heinrich (D-NM) and John Barrasso (R-WY) are the lead cosponsors of a companion resolution in the Senate.

“Congress should not impose any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge relating to the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station for broadcasting sound recordings over the air, or on any business for the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station broadcast over the air,” reads the Local Radio Freedom Act.

In its letter, NRB asked Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-CA-12), Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA-23), Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) to support the LRFA in order to “protect local radio stations that play music as part of their programming from having to pay new performance royalties that would cripple, and in some cases decimate, the ability of such radio stations to continue operations.”

The 138 House cosponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act include (new cosponsors in bold):

Rick Allen (R-GA-12)
Mark Amodei (R-NV-2)
Jodey Arrington (R-TX-19)
Brian Babin (R-TX-36)
Don Bacon (R-NE-2)
Troy Balderson (R-OH-12)
Jim Banks (R-IN-3)
Joyce Beatty (D-OH-3)
Jack Bergman (R-MI-1)
Gus Bilirakis (R-FL-12)
Mike Bost (R-IL-12)
Brendan Boyle (D-PA-2)
Mo Brooks (R-AL-5)
Anthony Brown (D-MD-4)
Vern Buchanan (R-FL-16)
Larry Bucshon (R-IN-8)
Cheri Bustos (D-IL-17)
Ken Calvert (R-CA-42)
Jerry Carl (R-AL-1)
Andre Carson (D-IN-7)
Buddy Carter (R-GA-1)
John Carter (R-TX-31)
Kathy Castor (D-FL-14)
Steve Chabot (R-OH-1)
Liz Cheney (R-WY-AL)
Tom Cole (R-OK-4)
James Comer (R-KY-1)
Jim Costa (D-CA-16)
Joe Courtney (D-CT-2)
Rick Crawford (R-AR-1)
Henry Cueller (D-TX-28)
Warren Davidson (R-OH-8)
Rodney Davis (R-IL-13)
Debbie Dingell (D-MI-12)
Jeff Duncan (R-SC-3)
Neal Dunn (R-FL-2)
Tom Emmer (R-MN-6)
Dwight Evans (D-PA-3)
Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-1)
Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE-1)
Virginia Foxx (R-NC-5)
Scott Franklin (R-FL-15)
Mike Gallagher (R-WI-8)
Mike Garcia (R-CA-25)
Bob Gibbs (R-OH-7)
Anthony Gonzalez (R-OH-16)
Vincente Gonzalez (D-TX-15)
Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon (R-PR-AL)
Paul Gosar (R-AZ-4)
Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ-5)
Kay Granger (R-TX-12)
Sam Graves (R-MO-6)
Glenn Grothman (R-WI-6)
Brett Guthrie (R-KY-2)
Jim Hagedorn (R-MN-1)
Vicky Hartzler (R-MO-4)
Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA-3)
French Hill (R-AR-2)
Trey Hollingsworth (R-IN-9)
Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA-6)
Richard Hudson (R-NC-8)
Chris Jacobs (R-NY-27)
Bill Johnson (R-OH-6)
Dusty Johnson (R-SD-AL)
Mike Johnson (R-LA-4)
Jim Jordan (R-OH-4)
Marcy Kaptur (D-OH-9)
Bill Keating (D-MA-9)
Fred Keller (R-PA-12)
Mike Kelly (R-PA-16)
Trent Kelly (R-MS-1)
Andy Kim (D-NJ-3)
Ron Kind (D-WI-3)
Adam Kinzinger (R-IL-16)
Annie Kuster (D-NH-2)
Darin LaHood (R-IL-18)
Doug LaMalfa (R-CA-1)
Doug Lamborn (R-CO-5)
Bob Latta (R-OH-5)
Al Lawson (D-FL-5)
Barry Loudermilk (R-GA-11)
Frank Lucas (R-OK-3)
Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO-3)
Elaine Luria (D-VA-2)
Stephen Lynch (D-MA-8)
Tom Malinowski (D-NJ-7)
Thomas Massie (R-KY-4)
Patrick McHenry (R-NC-10)
Dan Meuser (R-PA-9)
Seth Moulton (D-MA-6)
Frank Mrvan (D-IN-1)
Markwayne Mullin (R-OK-2)
Greg Murphy (R-NC-3)
Ralph Norman (R-SC-5)
Devin Nunes (R-CA-22)
Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ-1)
Steven Palazzo (R-MS-4)
Chris Pappas (D-NH-1)
Donald Payne, Jr. (D-NJ-10)
Greg Pence (R-IN-6)
Scott Perry (R-PA-10)
Dean Phillips (D-MN-3)
Bill Posey (R-FL-8)
Amata Radewagen (R-AS-DL)
Tom Rice (R-SC-7)
Hal Rogers (R-KY-5)
Mike Rogers (R-AL-3)
David Rouzer (R-NC-7)
Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD-2)
Bobby Rush (D-IL-1)
Tim Ryan (D-OH-13)
Gregorio Sablan (D-MP-AL)
Brad Schneider (D-IL-10)
Kurt Schrader (D-OR-5)
David Scott (D-GA-13)
Terri Sewell (D-AL-7)
Mike Simpson (R-ID-2)
Pete Stauber (R-MN-8)
Elise Stefanik (R-NY-21)
Chris Stewart (R-UT-2)
Van Taylor (R-TX-3)
Claudia Tenney (R-NY-22)
Glenn Thompson (R-PA-15)
Tom Tiffany (R-WI-7)
William Timmons (R-SC-4)
Michael Turner (R-OH-10)
Fred Upton (R-MI-6)
Jeff Van Drew (R-NJ-2)
Filemon Vela (D-TX-34)
Tim Walberg (R-MI-7)
Jackie Walorski (R-IN-2)
Brad Wenstrup (R-OH-2)
Bruce Westerman (R-AR-4)
Joe Wilson (R-SC-2)
Rob Wittman (R-VA-1)
Steve Womack (R-AR-3)
Don Young (R-AK-AL)
Lee Zeldin (R-NY-1)

The Local Radio Freedom Act’s 18 Senate cosponsors are (new cosponsors in bold):

John Barrasso (R-WY)
John Boozman (R-AR)
Mike Braun (R-IN)
Susan Collins (R-ME)
Mike Crapo (R-ID)
Steve Daines (R-MT)
Joni Ernst (R-IA)
Maggie Hassan (D-NH)
Martin Heinrich (D-NM)
John Hoeven (R-ND)
Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS)
Jim Inhofe (R-OK)
Cynthia Lummis (R-WY)
Roger Marshall (R-KS)
Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
Dan Sullivan (R-AK)
Jon Tester (D-MT)
Todd Young (R-IN)

About NAB

The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America’s broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at www.nab.org.


Article Courtesy NAB